KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - Viewing Documents in Review Mode

This document details the functionality available when viewing a document in read-only mode.

Viewing Documents in "Review Mode"

If you wish to look at the content of a document without making any changes, open a specific status queue; Published, Pending Review, Draft, Archive or Trash and click on the document title to view it in read-only mode known as Review Mode. Review Mode also allows you to see the edits and comments that have been made to a document of any status.

Getting to Review Mode

In the image below, Published documents can be viewed by navigating to KB Admin Tools > Documents tab > Published queue. The Published Documents page displays all published documents within the group space. Click a document title to open that document in Review Mode.

The published documents list is displayed with a red arrow pointing at a document's title

The image below shows the Review Mode of document 5251. The document's content is in read-only mode. If a user has permissions to do so, the Edit button will be accessible in the upper left corner of the review screen. The other buttons visible are Mark as reviewed, Delete, and the More drop down menu which includes a number of choices.

The Status section is prominently displayed, identifying which status(es) the document is currently in.

The document review screen's Status section for a document that is in draft, published, but expired.

Review Options / Comments

Adding Comments and Sending Comments to Owner

To add an informational note to a document, open the document in Review Mode, click More, and then select Add Comment... from the drop-down menu.

In the Add Comment window, enter your comment. You can also choose to send a copy of the comment by email to the document owner and the group space administrator. When you are finished, click Submit.

Adding comments screen

Review Mode Buttons

Mark as reviewed Button

The Mark as reviewed button (only available for documents to which you have write access) indicates that you have checked the document content and no changes are required at this time.

A pop-up message will appear asking, "When marking a document as reviewed, if it has already expired or will expire within the next 180 days, its expiration date is automatically extended to 180 days from today." Confirm this by clicking Confirm, or exit without making any changes by clicking Cancel. If you click Confirm, you will not be reminded to review this document for another 6 months.

Pop-up image of marking a document as reviewed, with the Confirm and Cancel buttons visible

Delete

A document can be deleted from the review screen by clicking on the Delete button. The document will be moved to Trash. A deleted document can only be recovered from the Trash by a KB Admin with publish rights. See KB User's Guide - Documents Tab - Moving a Document to the Trash.

More

The More drop down option allows an editor to view the following options:

  • View activity log
  • Version history
  • Draft vs. published
  • View source
  • Add comment...
  • Save as...
  • Quick Info...
  • Linked from...
  • Scan for broken links...

These options are also available when editing a document.



Keywords:
kb knowledgebase knowledge base users guide livedocs live docs document documents tab review reviewing save as send comment to owner Mark as reviewed See revisions show changes button mark as reviewed notification review reminder extend expiration date 
Doc ID:
5251
Owned by:
System U. in KB User's Guide
Created:
2007-01-04
Updated:
2026-08-21
Sites:
KB Demo, KB Demo - Child Demo KB, KB User's Guide